Home > Club Sports > Sure We’re not D-1, but we’re still #swimmers

Sure We’re not D-1, but we’re still #swimmers

Grant recently sat down with Courtney Daczkowski, the president of Club Swimming, after her team was successful at their Nationals competition during Apirl 1st-3rd.

How did nationals go for you and for your team?
The women placed 3rd overall, which was amazing and I did well individually.

How many schools typically compete at a meet? At Nationals?

On average meets range from 5-15 teams and nationals had 48 teams

How many competitions does the team compete for every year?

2 in the fall and 3 in the spring

How many people are in Club Swimming?
About 60 active members

What events you compete in?200 and 400 Medley Relay; 200 and 400 Freestyle Relay; 50 and 100 Backstroke; 50 Free; and 100 Individual Medley

How and when did you get involved with swimming?
I started swimming competitively when I was 3 and it was a sport my parents thought I would be good at so they had me try it. I ended up loving to swim and fell in love with the individual competitive nature of the sport.

What else are you involved with on campus? How are you able to manage your time?
Im a sister of Tri-Delta and an AGC for FSL. I am not the best at time management and I kind of make-it up as I go.

How demanding are your practices and how often are they?
We do not really take our practices to seriously in the sense of you do not have to come if you don’t want to. We practice M-F from 4:00-5:15.

How do you get money to compete?
Proceeds nights; Concessions at sporting events; Stadium/Convo Clean-Ups

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment